The Last Straw

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Sharon Sala

General Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

Published February 23, 2021 by MIRA

Charlie Dodge may be down, but he’s most definitely not out. He’s still reeling after a series of earth-shattering events, so when a desperate woman hires Dodge Investigations to find her missing sister, the head-scratcher of a case is exactly the distraction Charlie and his steadfast partner, Wyrick, need. Two weeks prior, Rachel Dean disappeared without a trace from her locked-from-the-inside Dallas apartment, and every possible trail has gone cold.
Grappling with the fallout of her efforts to dismantle the shadowy organization Universal Theorem, Wyrick throws herself into her investigative work. Charlie knows his partner can handle herself, but when she uncovers a past connection that paints a target on her back, the threat of losing her hits Charlie hard. There’s nothing he wouldn’t do to keep Wyrick safe, but with the clock ticking on a victim they’ve yet to find, it’s only a matter of time before the cold-blooded killer leads them to a deadly end.

My Thoughts:

I got this ARC and immediately went and found the first 3 books so I would know everything that had happened from the beginning. I read all 4 within 1 week. I loved the mystery. A woman disappearing without a trace? It was spooky and a little creepy. Once I started reading I was completely invested from the first page to the last. While I knew the romance part of it was coming, it still was hard to switch gears from them holding each other at arms length to “let’s have a relationship!” I liked that they became a team in more ways than one, but it was still a hard switch.

Thank you to #SharonSala and #Edelweiss for allowing me to read this book. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

**Affiliate link

To buy your copy of this book, please consider doing so from this link via BookShop. I receive a tiny commission, but more importantly, BookShop is an online bookstore that contributes 75% of each book’s profit margin to independent bookstores. You can even select the bookshop you want to support via Find a Bookstore.

The Paris Library

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Janet Skeslien Charles

Historical Fiction

Published February 9, 2021 by Atria Books

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

My Thoughts:

I almost passed this up. I was tired of WWII books and was reluctant, but it sounded so good and it involved a library! I am so glad I requested it. I adored this book and have been glued to it all day. Trying to read while drying my hair? Check. While eating breakfast? Check. While brushing my teeth? Yup. In the carpool lane waiting to pick up my kids? Yes to that too. I ended up being late to work because I couldn’t put the book down. My heart was alternately racing while I read as fast as I could or breaking a bit for what I was reading. I never knew about the American Library in Paris or crow letters during the war.

I couldn’t decide whose story I loved more or who I was more emotionally attached to: Lily’s or Odile’s. I only wish there was more resolution when it came to Odile’s story. I want to know more!

To learn more, here is the link to The American Library in Paris. See pictures of the individuals you meet while reading The Paris Library.

To purchase this book, please consider using this link. I earn a tiny commission, but most importantly, Bookshop.org supports local bookstores. They give 75% of their profits to support local bookstores and authors.

Thank you to #NetGalley and #JanetSkeslienCharles for allowing me to read this book. I received an advance review copy for free, and I am sharing this review voluntarily.